01454 868 610

Wheatfield Drive, Bradley Stoke, Bristol, South Gloucestershire, BS32 9DB

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) - Reception Year

Children in Reception follow the EYFS curriculum which builds on the learning they will have begun in pre-school or nursery. Reception marks the final year of the EYFS curriculum before they begin the national curriculum in Year 1. 

The EYFS curriculum is separated into seven areas of learning (three Prime and four Specific). Each area of learning is further broken down (for the purposes of assessment) into two or three separate aspects. These areas and aspects are shown below.

Whilst the Areas of Learning are separated for the purpose of illustration, it is worth noting that many are interconnected and, within the classroom, teaching will often address the development of more than one area. 

The Seven Areas of Learning

To find out more about each of the 7 Areas of Learning, click the button below to take you to a page containing a detailed description. 

Visit our Reception Class Page

You can find out more about the current learning taking place in EYFS by visiting our Reception Class Page - you can also download copies of the latest Reception Newsletter. 

Wheatfield's EYFS Curriculum

Our EYFS curriculum has been designed to provide a foundation of essential knowledge, skills and attitudes which children need to thrive as learners. The five aims of our school curriculum are to 'inspire every child to achieve' by:

  • Expanding knowledge and vocabulary
  • Developing skills and oracy
  • Encouraging reading and research
  • Promoting thinking, discussion, questioning and enquiry
  • Making learning 'real, rich and relevant'

Our teaching team plan an educational programme which spans the seven Areas of Learning and which also aligns with the overall aims of our school curriculum. Teachers are mindful of the different rates at which children develop and adjust their practice accordingly, ensuring all children are appropriately included and challenged. In each of our two Reception classrooms, teachers ensure a fair and equal curriculum offer is available by planning, reflecting upon and adjusting their provision together. Teachers are also careful to ensure the 'three characteristics of effective teaching and learning' are planned for and evident across the setting:

  1. Playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things and 'have a go'
  2. Active learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements
  3. Creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things

Throughout Reception year, children are also taught about our school values (choose respect, take responsibility, show resilience and be kind) and learn how these apply to their learning attitude as well as their relationships with both others and themselves. 

Click the button below to view our EYFS curriculum map

Tapestry (see your child's learning)

We use an online 'learning journal' know as Tapestry to track the achievements and interests of your child. EYFS staff regularly update your child's journal and we strongly encourage families to upload their own contributions. Click the icon to log in or find out more.

You can also download the following guides for using the Tapestry App:

IOS Tutorial for Tapestry

Android Tutorial for Tapestry

Early Learning Goals

Teachers make on-going assessments and observations of your child throughout Reception year. At the end of the year, teachers have to make a final judgement about whether your child has reached the 'expected level of development' against each of the 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs).

The link below will take you our statutory assessments page. This contains more information about the ELGs and how the outcomes will be reported to you. 

Assessment in Reception